Ouran High School Host Club

Although I typically read and watch more action oriented anime and manga, I really loved Ouran High School Host Club. It reminded me a lot of the Korean version of Boys Over Flowers (I haven’t yet started the Japanese version). I didn’t like it at first. In fact, it took me a couple chapters and episodes to really get into it, but after I did, I found that I really enjoyed it.

Ouran High School Host Club is about a girl named Haruhi who accidentally breaks a very expensive vase that belonged to Ouran High School’s ‘Host Club’, a collection of six of Ouran’s handsomest and richest students. Due to her androgynous looks, the Host Club members assume Haruhi is a boy, who then becomes a member of the Host Club in order to pay off her debt. Haruhi becomes close to the club members, especially to Tamaki, who she soon develops romantic feelings for.

I LOVE this manga. I have to admit, while I liked the art style, I didn’t love it, though it did really fit with the story concept. Am I the only one bothered by Haruhi’s ENORMOUS eyes? They take up half of her face. This is a cliche of anime and manga, big eyes, but Host Club took it to a whole new level! Other than that, I loved the characters. The manga took on a really comedic concept for almost every chapter. Everyone was funny in their own way. Honey-Senpai was adorable and the twins were hilarious and easily my favorite.

While I still loved the anime, I liked the manga better. I don’t feel like the anime did the manga justice. It was still funny and the characters were well portrayed, but I feel like the anime ended at the wrong place. The anime ends with Haruhi chasing after Tamaki, who then decides to come back to Ouran and the Host Club. But wait…that’s it? We’ve seen the love line between Haruhi and Tamaki throughout the entire series but the ending doesn’t dwell on that at all. Sure, it was a big deal that Haruhi chased after Tamaki, but all the members were. It just happened that Haruhi was the one who was brave enough to jump out of a moving cart to get to Tamaki. I often find this problem with smaller manga series that are turned into anime. While Ouran High School Host Club ended up being around 80-90 chapters, the anime ended up being only 26 episodes. The same thing happened for Fruits Baskets. The manga had so much more to it than the anime, which was good, but would have been better if it had continued.

2 thoughts on “Ouran High School Host Club

    1. BOF was my first drama, but Naruto was my first anime. I saw Ouran before I saw BOF and the second I saw BOF I thought of Ouran. Just with the whole system and the concept of rich/poor. Even though BOF had LIKE ALL OF THE KDRAMA CLICHES WRAPPED INTO ONE SHOW, EVERY SINGLE EPISODE, I still really enjoyed it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

