Top 5 Anime Series

I love anime, and as hard as it is, I’ll be picking my top 10 series. I’m not saying these are the best anime, just my personal opinion on the ones that I liked.

1.) Naruto and Naruto Shippuden

I love both the anime and manga of Naruto and the follow series Naruto Shippuden. Even though I really hated certain characters (ehem…Sakura) and others really annoyed me (Sasuke), this particular anime captured my heart from the first episode I ever watched.This anime/manga series does a really good job of combining both comedy, drama, and action for a fun-for-all series. The characters were funny, and the message is heartwarming. If you haven’t already, I’d highly recommend checking out the manga and the anime adaption.

2.) Shingeki No Kyojin (Attack on Titan)

Definitely the most gruesome of this list, I’ve included Attack on Titan because of the incredible art and captivating story line. This anime has some of the best art I have ever seen in an anime series. It is truly amazing. The characters are easy to like and the story will leave you with nightmares. If you can handle the animated gore, I’d check both the anime and the manga out.

3.) One Piece

Like Naruto, this anime-manga series combines comedy, drama, and action all in one. The many character, Monkey D. Luffy is so clueless and fun loving, it seems almost impossible to dislike him. The captivating tale of a group of pirates set on finding the ‘One Piece’ is sure to leave viewers on the edge of their seats, wishing for more.

4.) Sailor Moon – Season 2 and Beyond

To be honest, I couldn’t stand Sailor Moon all throughout season 1. She was whiny, irritating, and everything I hate in a female anime lead. I had to force myself to finish season 1, but once I really got into season 2, I found that I actually really enjoyed the show. Although it had some WTF season endings much later in the show, Sailor Moon is definitely one that I’d recommend.

5.) This Boy Caught a Merman

So I kind cheated a little bit with this one. The title is ‘Top 5 Anime Series‘, yet, This Boy Caught a Merman is an anime movie. However, against my better judgment, I’ve added it. This tells the heartwarming tale of a merman who saves a boy after he almost drowns. The boy then allows him to live in a tiny kiddie pool in the middle of his living room. A lot of people that I’ve mentioned it too didn’t really like it or didn’t even know it existed, but I loved it. It was some part comedy, some part drama, some part romance, but it ended cutely. I only wish it was longer.

Honorable Mentions:

I was going to add Bleach, but I decided that there were too many parts I disliked to call it one of my ‘favorites’. I really liked the concept and the characters, I just disagreed with certain parts that kind of marred my experience slightly.

Orenchi no Furo Jijo is a 13 episode anime whose episodes range from about 3-5 minutes long. This. Anime. Was. Adorable. I only wish they’d had more episodes with longer running times.

Tonari no Seki-Kun is all about this girl and her classmate. The title translates into something along the lines of ‘Seki-Kun Sitting Next to Me’ or ‘The Boy Sitting Next to Me’. The boy always does crazy things in his seat, yet nobody but the main character notices. It’s really cute and funny and watch as these two interact.

If you’ve read my previous blog post, you know I really loved Ouran High School Host Club. However, I hated how the anime ended versus the original manga series. It’s cute and the characters are funny, so I’d definitely check it out.

Leave a Reply

