When You Have Writer’s Block

You might have guessed from my lengthy posts. I love to write. Even though I’m a newbie blogger, I love it already. Creative writing is definitely my thing, and it’s something I excel in. I have accounts on websites like Wattpad and Goodreads where I can post my writing and others can view it. So, since I figured some of you probably also like writing since most of you are bloggers, I’ve decided to write a post about writers block, and how I combat it.

Writers block…arguably a writer’s worse enemy. It can happen at any time. You can’t really stop it from happening. In my case, writer’s block appears at the worse possible moments. Usually, I know what I want to write, how I want it to appear on paper, and how I want it to end. The only problem is I don’t know how to get it on paper. Or in Microsoft, as I type everything in a document before posting it.

If you get writer’s block, my advice for you is to take a break. Take a break from whatever you’re trying to write. Come back to it later with a fresh perspective. Think about what you want to write. After that, I like to free-write. Just grab a piece of paper, write out a bunch of ideas, and write at least a sentence or two of each. This will help you to weed out ideas that don’t fit with your overall concept. If you like something, add it. Remember, you can always go back and edit later.

If you’re still having problems, be brave. Have somebody else read your writing. Use them as a sound board. Allow them to give you ideas about your writing and take criticism well. Not everybody is going to like what you write, but that doesn’t mean it’s bad, or that you should stop. I’m sure there are some people out there that hated Harry Potter, but look how successful its become.

If you like to write, great. Check out Wattpad. It’s free to create an account and the second you get verified, you can post. I have an account on there and I love it. There are lots of fanfictions on there from T.V shows, books, anime, and yes, even K-Pop. If you decide to make an account, let me know, I’ll add you.

What are some of your methods for fighting writer’s block?

Leave a Reply

